About Estonia

  • Official name: Republic of Estonia
  • Total area: 45 227 square kilometers
  • Population: 1 315 635
  • Official language: Estonian
  • The biggest ethnic groups: Estonians 67.9%, Russians 25.6%, Ukrainians 2.1%, Byelorussians 1.3%, Finnish 0.9%
  • Capital: Tallinn
  • Number of islands: 1 521
  • Highest point: Suur-Munamägi (318 m)
  • Currency: EUR

The Republic of Estonia is a European country, bordering the Baltic Sea in the west and north (including the Gulf of Finland in the north), Latvia in the south and Russia in the east. Across the Gulf of Finland there is Finland; Sweden lies on the other side of the Baltic Sea.

Estonia is a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004 and a member of NATO since 27 March 2004.

Some interesting facts

  • The first human settlements in Estonia date back to the Mesolithic period (i.e. the Stone Age) more than 10,000 years ago.
  • Estonians have one of the largest collections of traditional folk songs in the world – we have 133,000 songs documented in writing.
  • In November 2003, UNESCO proclaimed the Estonian tradition of song and dance festivals a masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.
  • The genetics researchers at Tartu University are close to a breakthrough in the creation of a vaccine against HIV.
  • Estonia is the country where Skype was born.

If you like to find out more about Estonia and Tallinn, visit official website of Estonian Tourist Board or the official website of Tallinn City Tourist Office & Convention Bureau

Book a hotel in Tallinn

This website uses cookies. Read more Accept